Scholarships - GraffitiPad

Phil Butler,


PRWEB, January 11, 2007 — GraffitiPad.com is selling advertising spots to fund a new program for college scholarships. According to the press release the site will sell “pixels” on their web site for $.49 cents each to fund the scholarship awards. Rainier Trinidad, the project’s creator, launched the funding program to expand the exposure his past philanthropic efforts have had. According to Trinidad, the Internet will help generate enough funding to finance 60 - $1000 scholarships per month, over a five year period.

Rising tuition costs combined with a reduction in grants and other funding have left many college students gasping for funding. Tuition in the U.S. has increased nearly three fold in the last 30 years. Trinidad has guaranteed funding for 2 -$1000 scholarships for the March and June quarters. The site has already sold over 2100 pixels of advertising! The scholarships will be merit based, but will ultimately be given to recipients who can attract the attention of voters on the web.  

The criteria for eligibility are as follows:

  1. Minimum 3.0 GPA
  2. Enrolled in post secondary education (college or graduate)
  3. United States residence with U.S. mailing address
  4. At least 18 years of age

Trinidad said that making money off the site is a secondary concern, and that funding the 60 scholarships is the primary focus. The GraffitiPad owner said: “Until the first goal of funding 60 scholarships is met, I won’t earn a single dime from this venture.”

Applicants will also be required to supply documentation to support their applications. Transcripts, tuition expenses, room and board expenses, and a short statement of personal information will be required in order to qualify. The initial scholarships will only be awarded once per quarter until sufficient funding is available for the monthly expenditure.  

The take!

I am very much for philanthropy, and especially for people trying to better themselves. Sites like this are a little hard to evaluate, as the information available is pretty limited. I have a tendency to be skeptical about the motives of any marketing machination, and I always like being proven wrong. On the face of it, this looks like a very good deal for some deserving college students, and I hope it goes well!

The site does have several disclaimers in regard to no funding being available, and etc. There is no exact statement of the proportion of collected funds to be distributed to the selected students. The number of pixels available at the onset was 350,000, so we can do the math on that. Does the site owner intend to distribute the initial $60,000 after $100,000 in revenue, $200,000? How many scholarships will be funded and when is my big question? The problem with asking people to give is that so many have given only to see their money wasted.

Ultimately, I don’t care if the guy makes $50 million, if at least 70% of that sum is donated to the students. Disclosure is what brings credibility to any endeavor. Mr. Trinidad would be better served making a more specific statement on the subject. Affiliations with watchdog associations like Give.org can add validity, and I think these affiliations would better serve us all. I have written the site owner to that effect, and hope to be able to report great things about its progress.

 


If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to profy RSS feed!
3 Comments (Subscribe to rss)
  • Hi Mr. Butler, thanks for taking the time to write about the GraffitiPad.com project on your site. You raise some good issues, and I’d like to try to address them here with your audience:

    With regard to the site’s goal of raising $60,000, I intend to distribute it in $1,000 increments in the form of scholarships - with each scholarship becoming immediately available as soon as advertising revenues or contributions reach every $1,000 increment. Each dollar up to the first $60,000 goes straight toward scholarships - not after the site raises $100,000 or $200,000 - but immediately, as it is raised.

    I personally absorb the expenses for running and promoting the site, and personally funded the first two $1,000 scholarships out of my own pocket to give the project some initial momentum. I believe in this cause enough to put in my own money, and I hope my actions demonstrate my commitment and help allay concerns among the skeptics.

    With regard to being affiliated with associations like Give.org, while I think it’s a good idea, I don’t think the GraffitiPad.com project would qualify for it. That’s because it is a for-profit venture, and I believe that means it cannot by definition be called a charity (which is defined by its non-profit status), even though it has charitable intentions. Despite its for-profit nature, I’m taking a different approach with the site and putting philanthropy above profit. Like I mentioned in the press release, the students should come first, and until that goal of raising $60,000 is first met, I don’t make a dime from this venture.

    I hope this helps clarify things some more. If you or anyone else has questions, I’d be happy to answer them the best I can.

    Sincerely,

    Rainier Trinidad
    GraffitiPad.com

  • Hello Rainier,
    I got your very eloquent email, and was so pleased to find that my little observations appeared to be oversights out of the larger task of getting the site going. Thank you for addressing these concerns, as I believe that this will help your wonderful cause and Profy’s interested readers. If we all work to perfect this web, then so much can be accomplished!
    Best Regards, Phil

  • Hello,

    Hopefully the endeavor to provide a worthy scholarship program via GarffitiPad.com will have more decency and integrity that your current project site of Repptide.com…the cess pool you’ve allowed it to become. I agree that transparency of the funds raised and provided in scholarships would be required by regular verifiable records reporting on the site.

    I for one, would suggest folks evaluate the entegrity of any founded, and run by site of Rainiers, based upon the extreme foul language and personal attacking of members on the Repptide.com site.

    Best regards,
    Peabody
    Former member of repptide.com

Leave a comment (We support avatars from Gravatar, MyBlogLog, and FriendFeed)